Kate Elliott

Authors Pavilion
Saturday May 5, 3:00 pm
Panelist with Lee Siegel on Writing Fantasy

Title of latest book: Cold Fire (The Spiritwalker Trilogy)

Genre: Fiction: fantasy
Orbit; Sept. 26, 2011
Paperback; $14.99; 640 pages; not illustrated
Kindle, Nook, iTunes: $9.99

The book: Trapped within a maze of blood, treachery and magic …

Cat and her cousin Bee are key players in a drama of dragons and politics. Warring factions want to use or destroy their growing powers, and they’re closing in. The Cold Mages are conspiring to take them prisoner and the warlord Camjiata thinks it’s their destiny to help him conquer Europa – whether they want to or not. And the man Cat was forced to marry is back, as arrogant and annoyingly handsome as ever. Worse still, as Hallows Night approaches, powers hidden deep within the spirit world are rising. Cat must seek allies against these threats, for if she makes the wrong choices, she’ll lose everything. Only one thing is certain. When Hallows’ Night comes the Wild Hunt will ride – and it feeds on mortal blood.


“Overall Cold Fire (A++, top 10 novel of 2011 for me) is a remarkable achievement since it expands the universe of the series, ends at a definite point while promising a lot for the last volume, all narrated in the same wonderful exuberant voice that enchanted me so much in Cold Magic.”

Cold Fire introduction

“Elliott pulls out all the stops in a wildly imaginative narrative that will ring happy bells for fans of Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy.”

Publisher’s Weekly

“Elliott has concocted something very special and original here, with elements to tweak sci-fi and fantasy fans of nearly any stripe, from alt history and steampunk aficionados, to lovers of intrigue, romance, and swashbuckling adventure.”

New York Journal of Books

“The concept got me shivering. . . .the characters, the mysteries, the background history, the cultural complexity, were all so intriguing I couldn’t stop reading.”

Elizabeth Moon, author of The Speed of Dark

“Fans of steampunk and alternate history will enjoy this heady mix of magic and technology.”

The Library Journal

“Something pretty unique. Add to this the author’s usual authoritative writing voice, a cracking love story and wrap it all up in politics, machinations alongside double dealing and the result is a very tired but sated reader after a marathon night time session … the result is something that makes this for me Kate’s best series to date. Great stuff.”

Gareth Wilson, Faltaca Times

Kate Elliott is the author of more than a dozen novels, including the Novels of the Jaran, the Crossroads fantasy series, and the Spiritwalker Trilogy. King’s Dragon, the first novel in the Crown of Stars series, was a Nebula Award finalist; The Golden Key (with Melanie Rawn and Jennifer Roberson) was a World Fantasy Award finalist. Born in Oregon, she lives in Hawaii.

Visit Kate Elliott’s website

Elliott’s other works:

As Alis A. Rasmussen

The Highroad Trilogy science fiction; Bantam Spectra; 1990

The Labyrinth Gate fantasy; Baen; 1988

As Kate Elliott

Cold Magic; Orbit; 2010

Traitor’s Gate; Tor Books; 2009

Shadow Gate; Tor Books; 2008

Spirit Gate; Tor Books; 2007

The Crown of Stars; Orbit; Feb 2006

In the Ruins; DAW Books; Aug 2005

The Gathering Storm; DAW Books; 2003

Child of Flame; Orbit; 2000

The Burning Stone; Orbit; 1999

Prince of Dogs; Orbit; 1998

King’s Dragon; Orbit; 1997

The Golden Key, collaboration with Melanie Rawn and Jennifer Roberson; Pan/Macmillan; 1996

The Law of Becoming; DAW Books; 1994

An Earthly Crown; DAW Books; 1993

His Conquering Sword; DAW Books; 1993

Jaran; DAW Books; 1992

Short Stories        

“My Voice Is In My Sword”, Weird Tales from Shakespeare; DAW Books; 1994

“The Memory of Peace”, Enchanted Forests; DAW Books; 1995

“A Simple Act of Kindness”, The Shimmering Door; HarperPrism; 1996

“With God to Guard Her”, Return to Avalon; DAW Books; 1996

“The Gates of Joriun”, Tarot Fantastic; DAW Books; 1997

“Making the World Live Again”, Zodiac Fantastic; DAW Books; 1997

“Sunseeker”; DAW Books; 2002


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: